Travel Warning Locations

Current U.S. Department of StateTravel Warnings

The U.S. Department of State - Bureau of Consular Affairs issues a Travel Warning when U.S. citizens are advised to consider very carefully whether or not to travel to a specific country. Examples of reasons for issuing a Travel Warning include an unstable government, civil war, ongoing intense crime or violence, or frequent terrorist attacks. Prior to departure, all U.S. citizens should know the risks of traveling to the places listed below, and strongly consider cancelling planned travel. Travel Warnings remain in place until the situation changes; some have been in effect for years.

Last updated: February 14, 2017


Below is a full  list of countries that are under a current Travel Warning:


If traveling abroad, please enroll in the Smart Traveler Enrollment Program (STEP) which is a free service to allow U.S. citizens and nationals traveling abroad to enroll their trip with the nearest U.S. Embassy or Consulate.